+91-7710033016 / +91-8291749529 support@effectivepmc.com

PRINCE2®, stands for Projects In a Controlled Environment. It is a very widely accepted project management methodology which was at first created as a UK government standard for IT projects. Later it’s popularity made it applicable across many industries.

Now PRINCE2 is recognized as a generic project management method, suitable not just for IT projects but projects across all sectors, private as well as public sectors internationally (Mainly in the UK / Australia)

PRINCE2® describes End to end method for project management. It suggests that you can control your projects, by dividing them into manageable stages and Managing One Stage at a time by Setting Tolerances for each Management Level in the Governance.

Let’s look at the difference between PRINCE2® and PRINCE2® Agile certification.

In 2015, AXELOS launched PRINCE2 Agile. It was developed to help professionals tailor management controls when working in an agile environment. PRINCE2 Agile combines two frameworks within the Project Management domain – PRINCE2 and Agile. It combines the flexibility of agile with the governance of PRINCE2. It focuses on how we can tailor PRINCE2 to adopt Agile working practices to ensure success in project environments.

The core of PRINCE2 is PRINCIPLES, THEMES and PROCESSES. Both PRINCE2® and PRINCE2 Agile® cover these 2 Core aspects – principles, processes and themes.  But the main difference between PRINCE2® and PRINCE2® Agile certification is that PRINCE2 Agile guidance describes how PRINCE2® elements can be tailored for an agile environment.

The PRINCE2 controlled environment which has principles, themes and processes are then complemented by five Agile behaviours. The main focus is on purpose & tailoring / adopting documentation with flexible control mechanisms to deliver required results. It also encourages communication and collaboration between the management level and Team.

It also focuses on Creating Value for the Customers. With that PRINCE2 Agile certification also covers wide range of Agile concepts and techniques Like Scrum, Kanban and Lean Start-up principles.

PRINCE2® Certification comprises different levels. They are :

  • PRINCE2® Foundation
  • PRINCE2® Practitioner
  • PRINCE2® Agile Foundation (For Agile Projects)
  • PRINCE2® Agile Practitioner (For Agile Projects)

PRINCE2 Agile Foundation

PRINCE2 Agile Foundation is for individuals who are new to PRINCE2 and are working in or around an agile project environment. It aims to cover overview of PRINCE2, an introduction to agile and how to apply the two together

PRINCE2 Agile Practitioner

Candidates who are already certified in either PRINCE2 or PRINCE2 Agile Foundation levels can appear for PRINCE2 Agile Practitioner. It aims to explores practical application of the PRINCE2 Agile method in different project environments and scenarios

PRINCE2 Foundation

The Foundation certification aims Check if you know and understand the PRINCE2 method well enough to be able to work effectively as a member of a PRINCE2 project management team. 

PRINCE2 Practitioner

Candidates who are already certified in PRINCE2 Foundation level can appear for PRINCE2 Practitioner. The Practitioner certification aims to confirm whether you have sufficient understanding of how to apply and tailor the PRINCE2 method in different project environments and scenarios.